Super Bowl BBQ Sauce

One of my favorite condiments is – BBQ Sauce – I put it on burgers, dip fries in it, drizzle a little on baked beans…I just love the sweet and tangy flavor…I used BBQ sauce to cover up the taste of meat for most of my life…I made this realization when I was making my transition to a plant-based diet…It was the sauces and spreads that I really had the taste for – not what I was dipping in it (with the exception of french fries)!  Don’t you just love a good Ah-Ha! moment!  So when Super Bowl Sunday rolled around yes, I’ve been slack on posting) I knew I wanted BBQ sauce on something – but BBQ  sauce on what?…I didn’t just want a veggie burger…the wheels were really turning…you’ll just have to trust me on that…and I had just discovered Pinterest around this time so I was dying to find things to pin…meanwhile, LV was working on perfecting her baked tofu…Finally, I knew what Super Bowl Sunday needed – BBQ tofu sandwiches with coleslaw. I Googled and I Googled some more until I found…Kathy’s Smoky, Sticky, Sweet BBQ Sauce…so I think this actually was my first Pinterest pin…or second. Kathy’s Smoky, Sticky, Sweet BBQ Sauce
vegan, makes about 1 1/2 cups

4 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
3 Tbsp Black strap Molasses
2 1/2 Tbsp agave syrup
1 tsp lime or lemon juice
2 tsp Liquid Smoke (Did not use either time I’ve made the sauce)
*I like Colgin brand. It says it’s vegan on the bottle
2 tsp olive oil
1 tsp spicy mustard
2 tsp soy sauce
3 tbsp organic tomato paste
1 1/2 Tbsp Arrowroot Powder
*thickens the sauce like corn starch
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp black pepper
1 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp cumin
1 Tbsp ketchup
1 tsp onion powder
1/4 tsp cayenne (adjust for heat)

I’d like to point out that this sauce is vegan – and also point out that finding a BBQ sauce recipe and making it vegan is not at all difficult…As personal taste always plays a role in these types of things, I made a few tweaks to the recipe…I’ve made this sauce a couple of times so I’ve learned some lessons too.  Also don’t be alarmed by the number of ingredients…seems like like a lot but after you purchase what you need…you’ll have plenty to make many batches of BBQ sauce.

Not Pictured: Tomato Paste, Cayenne Pepper and Lime Juice

Easiest Directions Ever:
Combine all liquid ingredients in a bowl. Stir in the remaining ingredients one at a time. Make sure to add the arrowroot powder slowly to avoid clumping.

It looks like BBQ sauce, it smells like BBQ sauce, it tastes like BBQ sauce - It must be BBQ sauce!!!

Lessons Learned:

  1. 1/4 tsp of cayenne goes a long way (The second batch I used an 1/8 tsp)
  2. If you don’t need the smoky flavor – you don’t have to add it.
  3. 1 tsp of pepper is too much for my taste (The second batch I used 1/2 tsp or less)
  4. The sauce doesn’t really need the arrowroot powder or cornstarch
  5. To thin it – substitute tomato sauce in place of the tomato paste
  6. Tofu and BBQ sauce are an amazing combo!

    Baked BBQ Tofu sandwich with Slaw

 

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

