On Cobbler…

One thing people tend to obsess over when the word vegan is mentioned is – giving up something or that they’ll have to miss out on something…but what you learn after going vegan is that it is not about loss but about gaining…a new perspective on things – exploring options – living a new way – retraining the brain…Also the word “Can’t” comes up – “Oh, you can’t eat butter” or “oh, you can’t eat eggs.” – Not exactly true, I’m still capable of eating those things, I just choose not to…I’ve had to retrain myself to not say can’t as well…still sometimes there is a noticeable pause…as I almost spit out the word can’t and then rephrase…so instead of focusing on loss, choose cobbler — or something else new!

In my backyard there is a tree which turns out to be a mulberry tree – I’ve always heard mulberry bush but this is definitely a tree…dropping many berries in my backyard subsequently attracting many birds and turning the soles of our shoes purple…so we decided to make something with this delicious backyard surprise!  I actually did not participate in the berry harvesting myself.  I was also the only one hesitant to use these berries for fear that I may hallucinate and/or die…I was not interested in either scenario…

Clean berries from the backyard – mostly bug free!

5-6 Cups of berries is actually a lot…many berries contributed to our cobbler…fresh strawberries, frozen blueberries, frozen berry mix…I’ve made this cobbler a few times now – and every berry ratio works…don’t be scared to mix your berries up or just use one berry…the choice is yours!  This recipe is easy – will please any sweet tooth veg or not!

Click here to  link to the recipe – Berry Cobbler 

Berry mixture:

  • 5-6 cups fresh or frozen berries (blueberries, blackberries, raspberries, or a mixture of these)
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar

    Mixture of fresh, frozen and straight off the tree berries…Because using one berry is never enough!

Topping:

  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2/3 cup fortified soymilk or rice milk

Preheat oven to 375°F.

Spread berries in a 9 x 9-inch baking dish. Mix in flour and sugar. Place oven until hot, about 15 minutes.

To prepare topping, mix flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a bowl. Add milk and stir until batter is smooth.

Spread evenly over hot berries (don’t worry if they’re not completely covered), then bake until golden brown, 25 to 30 minutes.

 Recipe from Healthy Eating for Life for Cancer by Vesanto Melina, M.S., R.D.

 

Ta-da! Finished product complete with Trader Joe’s vanilla soy cream and mint fresh mint.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a comment